Actual Intelligence (2017)

This is Chris’ very first album under his own name and the debut of his jazz combo, The Chris Stevens Quartet. It was recorded mostly live in the studio and straight to 2 inch tape for a very earthy and vintage flavor.

After Midnight (2017)

“As we approach the light, we begin to see things once obscured by the night.  As darkness fades, our hearts are filled with the newness of the day…”

Bright Side Of Midnight (2014)

“With creative and exciting features from ChartelLee MoEl’Ahmad Barak, and Rick Tate Jr., Vertical Current takes listeners on a diverse musical journey, from the smooth yet pulsating title track “Bright Side of Midnight” to the groovy, ‘De La Soul-esque’, rendition of “Summer Time” with Lee Mo.” -Mike Sanford, Heed Magazine (
“The concept is about not only outlasting the darkness, but also racing toward the light!”- Chris Stevens, Founder

“Bright Side Of Midnight is a body of work that is intended to express hope! On the surface it’s a blend of jazz standards with a twist and some really funky originals. However, the concept is not only about outlasting the darkness, but also racing toward the light! The difference between p.m. and a.m. can be as small as a second. Though you may not see it yet, your expectation is to see the sun arise out of the darkness. In the midnights of life, we have to maintain the hope of the sun. The bright side of midnight is that the new day has already begun.”

aRe (2011)

Vertical Current’s debut as a recording entity explores the thresholds of modern jazz in hopes of cultivating a fresh sound by combining elements of various styles and genres.

Signs Of Life Music Vol.1: The Music of Vertical Current & Shaylah (2011)

This album is music from a joint production venture between Chris and his wife Shaylah. It is comprised of songs that were written several years before the formation of Chris’ first band, Vertical Current, but most remained unreleased until 2011 when the band debuted their EP “aRe”. All instruments played by Chris Stevens and all vocals by Shaylah Stevens.

Signs Of Life Music Vol.2: A Signs Of Life Christmas (2012)

This album is a collaboration between Chris, Shaylah and several friends.

Awake– All vocals by Shaylah Stevens

Let It Snow– All instruments by Chris Stevens, except Vocoder by Jordan Damiani

Little Drummer Boy– Drum programming, Trumpet & Keys by Chris Stevens, Bass by Don Stevens, Guitar by Harry Wilson, Rap by Lawrence “Concepts” Lockett, Vocals by Randall Potter

Jingle Bells– All instruments by Chris Stevens

We Three Kings– Guitar/Arrangement by Jordan Damiani, Drums by Steve Mckie, Synth/Keybass/Drum Programming by Chris Stevens

Silent Night– All instruments by Chris Stevens, except Bass by Don Stevens

Snow Day– All instruments by Chris Stevens